Idea Festival Advisory Committee for Nursing Science Education (2012 – 2014)


Linking PhD Education with a Vision for Nursing Science

The Idea Festival Advisory Committee is a place where practicing nurse scientists and educators can discuss the future of nursing science.


Connects to Council Mission:  One of the Council’s aims is to “facilitate and recognize life-long nursing science career development.”  The Idea Festival Advisory Committee for Nursing Science Education (IFAC) prepares students for the sciences of the future.

Why IFAC? Fast-paced advances in bio-omics, the quantiative sciences (measurement, statistics), informatics and e-Science are inspiring new questions and new methods for nursing science. The Idea Festival is identifying ways to best prepare PhD students for successful research careers that capitalize on these trends to solve priority problems in nursing science.

How: This Committee is convening expert workgroups and engaging the community of nurse scientists and PhD students in discussion about PhD education focused on emerging areas of science.  The Idea Festival has identified a number of future science areas,  including: genetics, genomics, proteomics, the microbiome, behavioral change science, informatics, statistics, translational science and health economics.

Result: The Idea Festival will disseminate its recommendations at the 2014 State of the Science Conference and in a white paper.

For More Information: Contact Susan Henly, Chair of IFAC: [email protected]


IFAC includes:

Susan J. Henly, PhD, RN (Chair) University of Minnesota
Jean F. Wyman, PhD, RN, FAAN (Chair, CANS Steering Committee),University of Minnesota
Jerilyn Allen, ScD, RN, FAAN Johns Hopkins University
Anna Alt-White, PhD, RN, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Yvonne Bryan, PhD, (NINR Liaison) National Institute of Nursing Research
Yvette Conley, PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Jacqueline Dunbar-Jacob, PhD, RN, FAAN, University of Pittsburgh
Margaret Heitkemper, PhD, RN, FAAN, University of Washington
Ann McCarthy, RN, PhD, FAAN, University of Iowa
Donna McCarthy Beckett, PhD, RN, FAAN, Ohio State University
Shirley Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN, Case Western Reserve University
Suzanne Prevost, PhD, RN, COI (STTI Liaison) Sigma Theta Tau International
Nancy Redeker, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, Yale University
Marita Titler, PhD, RN, FAAN, University of Michigan
Patricia Stone, PhD, RN, FAAN, Columbia University
Laura Smothers, MPA, Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science